Home » general » unfishwich

unfishwich


A thousand pardons for the dramatic lighting—the sun was setting and setting hard.

I don’t really think they taste at all like fish, but whatever. I froze and thawed (and pressed with my hands) some tofu then, using the Diner Cutlets recipe from The Chicago Diner Cookbook*, marinated the slices for 30 minutes in a mixture of water, oil, nutritional yeast, parsley, and spices. After squeezing out some of the liquid, I laid them right in the breading meal and fried them up.

I found the marinade gave the tofu pieces an extra layer of flavor, but the moisture turned me off. I really squeezed a lot of it out before coating, but it just wasn’t enough for me. If you don’t mind a squishy tofu, then by all means give it a whirl.

You may recognize the bun from previous posts—it’s Jesigurr from VegWeb’s recipe, which I halve for my bread machine. I haven’t screwed these up yet. With seeds, without, they’re always good. If I ever fall in love with a vegan hot dog, I’m sure these would work in a hot-dog shape. I can’t stress enough how perfect the bun consistency is.

*If you ever find yourself in Chicago, do yourself a favor and stop by the “meat free since ’83” Chicago Diner. Tom had his first vegan “chicken” parm there and it was like the angels were singin’.

2 thoughts on “unfishwich

  1. That’s too bad that the fish was squishy. Maybe if you pressed the tofu after you marinated it? But that might squeeze out all the flavor. It looks tasty & fishy at least! I’d just dunk it in some homemade Vegenaise tartar sauce & munch away!

  2. I was tempted to give it a good pressing, and I thought I got rid of enough liquid. Honestly, normal tofu-eaters would probably like it. I just have squishy-food issues.

    It was edible, especially as a sandwich. And the cold leftovers were less squishy.

Leave a Reply

