Home » general » happy birthday

happy birthday

muffincandle1

Yeah, um, I didn’t have a candle, so I made one out of an old chopstick.

Not only is it my sister-in-law’s birthday today (Happy birthday, Brenda), but it is also the first birthday or anniversary or whatever for Vegtastic Voyage. I don’t know anything about the specific day I went vegan—I’m pretty sure it was finalized while I was in Long Beach, which was a couple of cities ago—but I started this blog just two and a half weeks after moving to Portland.

And it’s St. Patrick’s Day. Ugh, whenever I see or hear “St. Patrick’s Day,” I can’t help but smell corned beef and overcooked cabbage. Even when I ate meat as a kid I hated corned beef and the way it made the house smell for days. I’m not even Irish (there’s a bit from a NW European/colonial mutt grandfather), so I don’t know why my parents had to have corned beef and cabbage year after smelly year.

Enough of that. Back to happy, yummy things. The muffin is an apple (I think bran) treat from Sweetpea. I picked up muffins yesterday because Tom was getting home from Chicago at midnight and I knew he wouldn’t be up for so much as a bowl of cereal this morning. And he probably didn’t eat much over the weekend; you know, when you’re away from home and in mourning and whatnot, food really isn’t that much of a draw. But Sweetpea muffins are always there for you. I don’t think I’ve had a disappointing one yet. Never too sweet. Never too dense. Thanks, Sweetpea. And welcome home, Tom. And happy birthday, Vegtastic Voyage.

3 thoughts on “happy birthday

  1. your blog is stupid, tom should stay in chicago and get fat off cheese like everyone else there, and my irish gramma made corned beef and cabbage all the FRIGGIN time. but irish grandmas don’t give a rat’s ass about St. Paddy’s day. they’d rather torture us with corned beef on a monthly basis.

    i guess that’s better than my mom’s story of having my german great grams sneak her servings of TONGUE, and not telling her what it was until after she ate it.

    i still can’t believe i loved liverwurst/braunschweiger. i dunno if i spelled that right or not, but spellcheck suggests “Schwarzenegger”. i’m not kidding.

    stupid krauts.

    my english grandma was the best. her idea of making christmas dinner was chips and salsa with a cake that said “Happy Birthday, Jesus” – – now you know where the smartass gene comes from. and the smoker’s gene, goddamnit. it’s been 2 days! it sucks.

    to anyone reading this who isn’t michele or tom: i’m from chicago. it’s a friggin JOKE. we’re like that.

  2. I don’t know if you can make some sort of avatar for yourself if you don’t have a blog account somewhere. Anyway, the Nazi swastika was S-shaped, not 2-shaped. And Tom’s great grandmother worked hard to make all those pure babies to earn that medal.

    Again, anyone not from Chicago might think we’re monsters.

    I’m proud of you for being a quitter…again.

Leave a Reply

