Home » general » happy equinox

happy equinox

Having just come back from Chicago, where they’re still in recovery from winter, Tom had to photograph his way home from work yesterday. This is Portland in spring:
flower-1
flower-2

flower-4flower-3
flower-5
How can this be the saddest/most depressed/whatever-that-poll-said-we-were city in the country?

In a couple of weeks we’ve got a friend (with his new ladyfriend) coming in for a visit, and he mentioned looking forward to vegan cupcakes. Last time he was here I Kahlua’d up some chocolate VCTOTW beauties, taking a cue from Destiny’s Vegan Kitchen. This time I’m going peanutty. I tried a sample batch of the VCTOTW peanut buttercream frosting/filling…it’s “Are you kidding me?!” good, super light and fluffy and not too sweet. I used Earth Balance in the tub for the margarine, Earth Balance sticks for the shortening, and Silk vanilla creamer for the milk/cream, and I went for the optional molasses. This recipe’s a keeper—I can see using it in non-cupcake situations, like a layered bar or in a light and dainty peanut butter cup. No photos, but there will be when I make the cupcakes, which will definitely be chocolate, maybe with some ganache drizzled over the top for a little extra zazz. ‘Cause I’m all about zazz.

Another bit of food I failed to photograph was today’s failed lunch: leftover bulgar stir-fried with shredded zucchini and onion. The flavor was there, but the consistency was so gross. I used really high heat to prevent the zucchini from bleeding its vital fluids, but it was still nothing more than veggie oatmeal. Strikes and gutters, man, strikes and gutters.

Leave a Reply

