Home » recipes » nugs

nugs

nug-pilaf-1

Chickalike nugs and pilaf—I can’t help but picture this meal coming out of boxes. But it didn’t! These were made from scratch and it was too easy not to.

The pilaf is super simple:
•1 c white rice
•½ c orzo
•2-3 T oil/Earth Balance
•2 c water w/bullion or 2 c broth
•handful of dried herbs and spices

Just slightly brown the orzo in oil, then add the rest, cover, and simmer as you would rice for about 20 minutes or so. Yeah, told ya it was easy.

The nugs are VeganDad’s Vegan Boneless Chickenless Wings, sans sticks and hot sauce, and gul-dernit if they weren’t good and easy. What makes them easier is that I made a double batch and just underbaked half of them so I could throw them in the freezer for later. Doubling isn’t all that much extra work, especially when you have an assembly line helper. This huge batch (4 meals) of gluteny goodness probably came in around $5. How far would that get you in the freezer section?

nugs2

4 thoughts on “nugs

  1. Thank you so much for this post! That is the one packaged food I miss is the fake nuggets from Trader Joe’s. Trying to not do any packaged food and now I have hope that I can have something similar to a nugget again! Thanks!

  2. These don’t have the stringy soy texture, just a solid meaty nugget here, but they totally serve the same purpose. And with the seasoning in both the breading and the seitan, I don’t even so much as salt these.

    VeganDad also has a recipe for a mcnug-alike but I prefer this one. More savory, less sweet. With both of the recipes, though, I find myself using less water than he does. I don’t know if that Canadian water is less watery or what, but I’m definitely on the low end of his water range.

    Aside from the money saved, these are so healthy. So low in fat and so few ingredients. I love it when a plan comes together.

  3. Pingback: fall food « Vegtastic Voyage

  4. Pingback: soy curls to the rescue « Vegtastic Voyage

Leave a Reply

